emporium pointe-saint-charles

The Pointe-Saint-Charles Emporium Barbershop is the Montreal company’s third location. While the brand’s two other venues are street-facing addresses, the new barbershop is located in the Nordelec complex, a red brick building that once housed the Northern Electric Company factory.

 

The designers’ main objective was to create a warm and welcoming environment which reflects the image of the brand and contrasts with the building’s strong industrial character.

 

A long glass wall formed of tall sliding panels separates the barbershop from the complex’s hallway. The panels can be moved and overlapped in order to completely open the shop to the common area.

 

Six barber stations, in a U-shaped layout, symmetrically structure the space. The sink vanities, made of oiled white oak, are topped with soapstone counters which will gain in patina as they age. On a full-length narrow ledge, large floating mirrors sit across the cream-colored barber chairs.

 

In the center of the space, two oblong forest green cabinets respectively serve as a product showcase and a payment station. A white suspended pergola conceals the building’s wiring and lowers the ceiling’s height, creating a more intimate space.

 

A large old rose curtain separates the main room from the employee area. Behind it is hidden a kitchenette, a storage area and a small laundry room.

type    commercial

location    montréal

design    l'abri

year    2019

photos    jack jérôme

emporium pointe-saint-charles

L’emporium barbershop de pointe-saint-charles est le troisième salon de l’entreprise montréalaise. Alors que les deux autres adresses donnent sur la rue, le nouveau salon se trouve dans le complexe de brique rouge nordelec, qui abritait jadis l’usine de la northern electric co.

L’objectif principal des concepteurs était de créer un environnement accueillant et chaleureux, à l’image de la marque et en contraste avec le côté résolument industriel du bâtiment.

Une grande paroi de verre composée de hauts panneaux coulissants sépare le salon de barbier du couloir de circulation. Les panneaux se superposent pour ouvrir entièrement le salon sur l’espace commun.

Six stations de coupe, disposées en « U », structurent l’espace de façon symétrique. Les meubles-lavabos, en chêne blanc huilé, sont surmontés de comptoirs en pierre à savon qui se patineront avec le temps. Supportés par un muret continu, de grands miroirs flottants font face aux fauteuils couleur crème.

Centrés dans l’espace, deux meubles oblongs laqués vert forêt servent respectivement de vitrine pour les produits et de station de paiement. Suspendue au plafond, une pergola blanche permet de dissimuler la mécanique tout en abaissant le plafond à un niveau plus bas, afin de recréer un espace aux dimensions plus intimes.

Derrière le grand rideau de velours vieux rose, qui sépare la salle principale de la zone réservée aux employés, se cachent une cuisinette, une zone d’entreposage et une petite buanderie.

type    commercial

lieu    montréal

conception    l'abri

année    2019

photos    jack jérôme