melrose

Located in Verdun, the Melrose project is the result of the transformation of a duplex into a single-family home. The challenge of this renovation consisted in leveling the floors on both levels of the house while maintaining the building's existing structure. The final result is a home with well-thought-out, open spaces.

Inside, the floorplan opens up, allowing flowing movement from one living area to another. Entirely fenestrated, the back-facing extension housing the kitchen and the living room lets in a rich amount of natural light and gives direct access to the backyard. Thanks to its two-level ceiling, the dining room benefits from both a vertical opening and the second floor's lightning.

The open staircase adjoining the living room allows access to the second floor while also providing an additional source of natural light for the ground floor, thanks to the large opening in the second-floor landing.

In the back, a large patio door gives access to the vast cedar deck, whereas one side is closed for more privacy while the other is opened to a line of trees. The deck was designed to allow for full enjoyment of the warm season in an urban environment.

type   residential renovation

location    montréal

design    alexandre bernier architecte

year    2019

photos    maxime brouillet

melrose

Situé à Verdun, le projet Melrose est le résultat de la transformation complète d’un duplex en maison unifamiliale. Le défi de cette rénovation résidait dans la remise à niveau des planchers, sur les deux étages, tout en conservant la structure existante. Le bâtiment final est une résidence aux espaces de vie décloisonnés et bien pensés.

 

À l’intérieur, le plan s’ouvre pour laisser la place à une circulation fluide entre les différents lieux de vie. Entièrement fenestré, l’agrandissement arrière, qui abrite la cuisine ainsi que la salle à manger, offre un riche apport en lumière naturelle aux résidents et un accès direct à la cour arrière. Grâce à la double hauteur, la salle à manger bénéficie d’une ouverture verticale et de l’apport en lumière du deuxième étage.

 

L’escalier ouvert, qui jouxte le salon, permet d’accéder au deuxième étage tout en offrant une source de lumière naturelle supplémentaire pour le rez-de-chaussée, grâce à la grande ouverture située sur le palier du second étage.

 

À l’arrière, la grande porte-patio donne accès à la vaste terrasse en cèdre. D’un côté fermée pour plus d’intimité, de l’autre ouverte sur une lisière d’arbres, la terrasse a été conçue pour profiter pleinement de la saison chaude en milieu urbain.

type    rénovation résidentielle

lieu    montréal

conception    alexandre bernier architecte

année    2019

photo    maxime brouillet